Why Use Databases?? Look at this handy Infographic for the reasons we use databases.
Need quality information?
Find full-text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to e-reference books, statistical data, and primary sources in our online
databases. The following subscription State Databases are funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC), the Massachusetts Library System (MLS) ,
Search the full suite of Gale Databases
Save time by selecting several databases from an alphabetical list to be
cross-searched simultaneously. You can also click on "select all" to search all the databases that have cross searchable capabilities.
To find On Demand Tutorials about Gale Databases, go to the Gale website.
Additional databases offered through MBLC and MLS
With a librbrary card you can also access great resources and additional databases. Go to the Boston Public Library and the Abington Public Library , a member of the OCLN network, to see what they have to offer.
Neswpapers.comAdditional Databases Purchased Through Abington Public Schools- These subscription databases are for Abington students and faculty, not the general public. They require usernames and passwords. You can ask for these in the Library Media Center
Ancestry.com - Must be accessed
Facts on File Collection- (Infofoplease)
This collection of databases has resources on current issues and general reference as well as history, science, and mathematics.
Digital Literacy- Educators and librarians have an important responsibility to teach students to evaluate, understand, and synthesize information and research. Digital Literacy is a tool to help students acquire critical thinking and essential information literacy skills through a user-friendly interactive platform.
Digital Literacy database articles explore cyberbullying, digital etiquette, career information and preparedness, various digital platforms, and technology’s biggest movers and shakers. Aligned to Common Core, AASL, and ISTE standards, Digital Literacy will give your students 21st-century skills and help them become savvy digital citizens.
This is not an open subscription. Ask Ms. Crowley if you want information on a specific topic of source.